Home page > Introduction > History





The Swazi Flag

The flag is rectangular, and its colours are red, blue and yellow. Each of these colours has a meaning, Red: Stands for the battles of the past. Blue: Stands for peace and stability. Yellow: stands for the resources. The flag also has a picture of a shield and spears. These two symbols stand for protection of our country from enemies. The shield is black and white to show that black and white people live together peacefully in Swaziland.



The coat of arms of Swaziland

The coat of arms for Swaziland depicts various symbols for the tradition and culture of the country. The lion represents the King and the elephant represents the Queen-mother. They support a traditional Nguni shield which represents "protection". Above the shield is the king's lidlabe, or crown of feathers, normally worn during the Incwala ceremony (the festival of the harvest). On a banner below the shield is the Swaziland national motto, Siyinqaba, meaning, "We are the fortress".




The Swazi people descended from the southern Bantu who migrated from central Africa in the 15th and 16th centuries together with the Xhosas and the Zulus, which belong to the Nguni subgroup. The Swazi ancestors, the Nkosi Dlamini, broke away from the mainstream of Nguni migrants led by Chief Ngwane, and settled in the region of the Pongolo river absorbing the Nguni and Sotho clans in the area.By 1750 they had settled in the Hluti region in the south of the Kingdom, under King Ngwane 111of the Nkosi Dlamini clan.The country derives its name from a later King, Mswati 1. However, Ngwane is an alternative name for Swaziland and Dlamini remains the surname of the royal family, while the name Nkosi means King.

The historical evolution of the autonomy of the Swaziland Nation was dictated by British rule of southern Africa in the 19th and 20th centuries. In 1881 the British government signed a convention recognising Swazi independence. However, controversial land and mineral rights concessions were made under the authority of the Foreign Jurisdiction Act of 1890 in terms of which the administration of Swaziland was also placed under that of the then South African Republic (Transvaal).

At the commencement of the Anglo Boer war, Britain placed Swaziland under its direct jurisdiction as a Protectorate and repeated representations especially relating to land issues by the King and his Councillors which affected the political process were rebuffed.

Nevertheless, the Swaziland independence Constitution was promulgated by Britain in November 1963 in terms of which a legislative Council and an Executive Council were established. This development was opposed by the Swazi National Council (liqoqo), as it was not in accord with the wishes and aspirations of the Swazi Nation.
Despite such opposition, elections took place and the first Legislative Council of Swaziland was constituted on 9 September 1964. Changes to the original constitution proposed by the Legislative Council, were accepted by Britain and a new Constitution providing for a House of Assembly and Senate, was drawn up. Elections under this Constitution were held in 1967.


Official language
Time Zone
1,133,066 (July,2007)
17,368 (half of Taiwan)
Sovereign state that is ruled by a Monarch
6 hours behind Taiwan